The people working on the urban transport activities in Parisar are:

sujit patwardhan

Sujit Patwardhan:

Sujit Patwardhan is a Graphic Designer and Printer by profession and a founder member and Trustee of Parisar since its inception in 1982. He has driven Parisar’s efforts to bring issues of environment centre-stage -through citizens’ campaigns, collaborative activism with other like minded organizations and advocacy efforts to highlight the need to ensure industrial and urban development does not lead to damage and destruction of the environment.

He has served on several important committees such as – Maharashtra State Environment Protection Committee, High Court Committee for overseeing building permissions granted in Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani, Mahabaleshwar Panchgani Regional Planning Board, Urban Heritage Committee of PMC (Pune Municipal Corporation), Development Plan Steering Committee for PMC etc.

Since the mid-1990s he has concentrated on advocacy for Sustainable Urban Transport Policy.



ranjit gadgil

Ranjit Gadgil:

Ranjit graduated from IIT Kanpur with a Masters in Physics before going to Cornell University for further studies. He then worked as an IT consultant for 7 years before returning to India in pursuit of something more meaningful.

He has been associated with several NGOs gaining experience in various sectors. Ranjit served as Programme Director of Janwani, an initiative of the Mahratta Chamber of Commerce, Industries and Agriculture where he launched several urban governance projects. He worked briefly with an international foundation as their transport programme officer. He was the Lead India finalist from Pune. Ranjit's current interest is non-motorized transport.





shweta vernekar

Shweta Vernekar:


She began in Parisar as an intern, and is now engaged in activities promoting awareness in various groups about the role of cycling and sustainable urban transport in the city, along with her studies. She has graduated with Psychology Majors and post graduated in Political Science from the Pune University.

Her interests include policy analysis and advocacy, focusing on non-motorised transport and public transport in cities.






Damodar Shanbhag:

 He joined Parisar in 2016, after having worked as a Stores Executive at Automotive Manufacturers Pvt Ltd, Pune for a total of 38 years, in which he also looked after Workshop Administration for 23 years. He is interested in sports and has represented the BMCC Kabaddi team in his college period. He is also actively engaged in the Ramakrishna Math activities, especially youth activities like training and workshops for the rural youth. At Parisar, he looks after administration and accounts.


Managing Committee Members

Mr Sujit Patwardhan - Chief Executive Officer, Secretary I

Mr Sadashiv Dumbre - President

Mr Shrikrishna Shankar Sane - Vice President

Mr Ravindra Bhaskar Bhagwat - Secretary II

Ms Vidya Sujit Patwardhan - Treasurer

Mr Vijay Paranjape - Member

Dr Rajendra Ravi - Member

Dr Nitya Sambamurty Ghotge - Member

Statira Wadia - Member


Also, Parisar has had some employees before who can be found on this page.Apart from these, Parisar also receives interns for specific time periods and projects throughout the year. Information about all the interns we have had so far can be found here.


What's New

Interesting Reads